Boredom 

The thing is you have to stay interested if you’re going to do this kind of swimming. It’s not a walk in the park or a picnic by a lake. But I am bored . I am bored of thinking about swimming all of the time . Plus I lack discipline .

If you look at the documentation of swimmers finishing their channel swim it’s rarely marked by jumps for joy. Mostly it’s marked by sighs of relief.

I can’t wait to get this done so I can move on. 

Tomorrow morning I’m swimming in the Champion of Champions in Dover harbour . 3 races totalling 9 miles.

I’ve done longer swims but still, I’m a bit nervous about this one because I  don’t feel in the best shape. I’m also underweight. 

When I did my six hour swim in Folkestone in 2012 I weighed about 18 stone. I few weeks ago I was 15 stone. I’m now 16 stone. I just hope i have the energy reserves to keep going. 

It’s forecast to rain throughout the day,  so I expect a bit of chop. That should keep the boredom for setting in. 

Calm seas can be very enjoyable but when the waves start bashing you about you really must swim for your life.  

And this is it. Or, there it is

And here I am just holding on

Author: riccardo iacono

riccardoiacono.co.uk