Stroke Analysis and Correction

Had a 1 to 1 training session with Tim at St Georges pool today.

We looked at improving my catch and pull.

Tim seems to think the EVF drills I’ve been doing have really improved my pull since our last session. I have a better feel of the water, bending at the elbow,   pulling in down the centre   and ending at the back.

Its still not perfect, but better. He keeps saying “better”. Sometimes he says “Awful”. Thats usually when I’ve reverted back to my old style of swimming :/

Today however we looked at trying to correct the cross over of my hands on entry.

Basically, in order for me to enter at the correct point and not cross over the midline, I need to aim at entering really wide.

When i do this my hand enters at the correct position in front of me, not wide  and not across my body line.

I also need to focus on keeping my head still.

Heres a video clip of my swimming at the end of the session.

 

“The main objective of swimming the English Channel is not to have a pretty stroke, but to get across!” Tim Denyer

This is just as well, because i do not have a pretty stroke. As a friend pointed out, I’m a splosher.

If I can adopt a more efficient stroke however, for at least part of the swim, then it will contribute to a faster and more enjoyable swim.

The keyword there is *joy*

 

Author: riccardo iacono

riccardoiacono.co.uk